Pint-Sized Prose

Do the Things You Need to Get to What you Want

Do things that you need to do only to get to the things that you want to do.

Don’t end up doing the things that you “need” to do for the rest of your life, ignoring the things that you want to do. Remember the things that you”need” to do are just stepping stones. Don’t forget your goal: to live a happy life. Don’t get caught up in these needs and try to pretend that they’re wants. Your wants are simple. Live a simple life filled with happiness and love.

Don’t spend your time on the “needs” because of the “shoulds” either.

You need to keep working because you should have a house by now. You need to apply to that job because you should be in that kind of position. I think that the best thing to do is to keep asking yourself, Does what I’m doing right now make my mind, body, and soul happy? If not, why not? What is it about where I am and/or what I’m doing right now that makes me not feel clear. Is there a reason  to this–do I see my clear goal ahead of me?

If not, then what the fuck am I doing?

Really! Really, what are you doing if you just continue to do things that don’t bring you joy over and over with no means to this end? Nothing.

Leave a Reply

